top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRitchie Bryant

Why don't I have a slate for RID campaign?

Updated: May 3, 2021

ID: A Black man with glasses wearing a light purple buttoned long sleeves shirt. He is standing behind the teal background with white text printed on the bottom left corner worded " Ritchie Bryant for RID President 2021."




English Transcript:


Many people have asked me why I do not have a slate for the RID Board of Directors.


Personally, I feel the members should be empowered to choose whomever they feel best fit for each position. This approach allows members to elect leaders that best represent their interests and better reflect the diverse perspectives of the membership.


I value working with individuals whose views are not only similar but different from my own. I feel strongly that this approach in embracing diverse perspectives will make RID that much stronger.


Having a predetermined slate of like-minded people will only limit RID’s ability to listen to members with other perspectives. Disregarding others perspectives could prevent RID from making decisions that would better RID in the long run. Again, that is my take on why I have chosen not to run for President as a member of a slate.





37 views0 comments
bottom of page